“Just” a Stay at Home Mom

I haven’t blogged in awhile, I was waiting for something to strike my fancy, and for the time to properly put those thoughts into words. Today, I happened to have both.

 

When picking up the kids from the gym this morning, one of the child care workers mentioned they hadn’t seen me in awhile. Between when I was working and then getting the house ready to sell, I hadn’t been attending the gym for quite some time. When I mentioned I had quit work and was at home now, she responded “Oh, you’re just a stay at home mom?”

I know she didn’t mean anything by this innocent statement. But it bugs me when someone uses “Just” like that.

At the time, I just smiled and said, “yep, back at home with the kids.” But inside I had a rant I wanted to unleash. So, I decided to share it on here.

I am not just a house wife.

I am not the housewife who sits at home and makes a “honey do list” for Wyatt to complete on his time off. If something needs to be done, I take care of it myself. I mow the lawn (on occasion), shovel the side walks, have fixed many of the appliances in our house, done maintenance on both cars, and found time to paint 4 rooms as well as pack in the last 3 weeks.

My days consist of cooking, cleaning, doing laundry, dishes, running errands, and taking the kids to dance class, swimming lessons, the gym, to the park, and on walks.

I spend the majority of my time raising three children. Three vibrant, lively children that could keep me busy individually, and can be overwhelming together. I do not pretend to be the perfect mother. My house is not always spotless, all the of the laundry is not always complete. But at the end of the day my kids are happy and healthy, and that is what matters to me.

I cannot stand people who say to me “you are just a stay at home mom”

I am not just anything. I could say I am a gardener, painter, chef, housekeeper, mechanic, nanny, and so much more.

But I am none of those things, I am a mom. And I am damn proud of it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to ““Just” a Stay at Home Mom

  1. Nichole

    You’re certainly my role model!

Leave a Reply

